Uncovered Texas

Comanche


Comyn-Theney, Community of


During the rapid settlement of this area following the removal of the Indian threat, about 1875, a rural community developed here. Besides a few homes and a school, it had a trading post-store, operated by W. F. Matheney. His name, shortened to "Theney" for business purposes also came to designate the town. Among the pioneer families was that of B. F. Barnes, at nearby Jones Crossing, 1876. His great-grandson Ben Barnes, Lt. Gov. of Texas, was reared in Comyn-Theney. During 1881 the Texas Central Railroad was built through here and a depot established. M. T. Comyn, a railroad official, succeeded in having the town and depot named for him, but the school remained Theney. Soon the settlement could boast several general stores, a post office, drug store, blacksmith shop, lumber yard, cotton gin, cafe, barber shop, and a hall for the Woodmen of the World. In 1918, when Humble Pipeline Company began building a tank farm here to store oil from new West Texas fields, a tent city of several hundred sprang up. But when construction ceased in 1919, the townspeople moved away. Theney Consolidated School, formed in 1924, soon built a new plant and became an outstanding high school. Declining attendance caused it to close, 1952. (1969)

Comyn, Texas

Comanche County

Year Erected: 1969

Marker Type: 27 in x 42 in

Discover More Comyn History


Browse thousands of old postcards from around the Lone Star State. See how tourist and local folks shared their Texas story.


Explore the many missions, forts and presidios that explorers and soldiers constucted to settle the lands now called Texas.


Tour the history of Texas through the text of the thousands of historical markers found all across the Lone State State.


Discover the deserted, forgotten and abandoned towns of Texas. Some vanished over night while others slowly slipped away.