Uncovered Texas


Confederate Congresses

(Texas in the Civil War) During the 4 years, 4 months after secession, Texas sent 18 lawmakers to the Confederate capitols. Her delegates to the Provisional Congress, Feb. 1861 to Feb. 1862, were John R. Gregg, Freestone County; John Hemphill, Travis County; Wm. B. Ochiltree, Nacogdoches County; Williamson S. Oldham, Washington County; John H. Reagan, Anderson County; Thomas N. Waul, Gonzales County; and Louis T. Wigfall, Harrison County. Texans in the first Confederate States Congress, Feb. 1862-Feb. 1864, were B. H. Epperson of Red River County; M. D. Graham, Rusk County; Peter W. Gray, Harris County; Claiborne C. Herbert, Colorado County; Frank B. Sexton, San Augustine County; John A. Wilcox, Bexar County; and Wm. B. Wright, Lamar County. Oldham and Wigfall served as senators, 1862-1865. Herbert and Sexton were re-elected to the Second Confederate Congress, in 1864. Their colleagues were Gen. John R. Baylor, Parker County; Anthony M. Branch, Walker County; Stephen H. Darden, Gonzales County; and Simpson H. Morgan, Red River County. Several congressmen left the legislative branch of the government for the battlefield, two becoming generals. Others left for presidential assignments-- one, Reagan, to be postmaster-general in the cabinet.

Town Square, Main St. Clarksville, Texas

Red River County

Year Erected: 1965

Marker Type: 27" x 42"

Discover More Clarksville History

Browse thousands of old postcards from around the Lone Star State. See how tourist and local folks shared their Texas story.

Explore the many missions, forts and presidios that explorers and soldiers constucted to settle the lands now called Texas.

Tour the history of Texas through the text of the thousands of historical markers found all across the Lone State State.

Discover the deserted, forgotten and abandoned towns of Texas. Some vanished over night while others slowly slipped away.