Uncovered Texas

Austin


Littlefield Building


Littlefield Building George Washington Littlefield (1842-1920) came to Texas from Mississippi in 1850. After serving in Terry's Texas Rangers in the Civil War, he made his fortune ranching and driving cattle. He moved to Austin in 1883 and, in 1890, established the American National Bank, which included a ladies' banking department. He hired architect C. H. Page, Jr., to design this Beaux Arts Classical building, which opened in 1912 with a rooftop garden. His bank was on the ground floor. For the corner entrance, he commissioned Tiffany's of New York to cast bronze, Bas Relief doors by sculptor Daniel Webster. These were later donated to the University of Texas, of which Littlefield was a major benefactor. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2002

601 N. Congress Austin, Texas

Travis County

Year Erected: 2002

Marker Type: 18" x 28"

Discover More Austin History


Browse thousands of old postcards from around the Lone Star State. See how tourist and local folks shared their Texas story.


Explore the many missions, forts and presidios that explorers and soldiers constucted to settle the lands now called Texas.


Tour the history of Texas through the text of the thousands of historical markers found all across the Lone State State.


Discover the deserted, forgotten and abandoned towns of Texas. Some vanished over night while others slowly slipped away.